child of immigrants

Posted: February 24, 2011 in immigrant angst

“child of immigrants”

I’ve been hungry all my life.
Everything I thought I needed
I was denied
Everything that hurt
They taught me was life.

The starving scraping at the insides
Of my stomach
The instinctive flinch
A desperate longing for escape
These are the tools
I have been given
To build my parents
Their American Dream.

Plantations, railroads, scientists
Internment camps
Prison industrial complex
College sports, pro athletes
My future is written in history.

Leave a Reply

